

1525 Sherman St. Denver, CO 80203

March 13, 2020

## **EMERGENCY RULEMAKING JUSTIFICATION**

State of Disaster Emergency. On March 10, 2020, Colorado Governor Jared Polis declared a State of Disaster Emergency as the number of identified coronavirus COVID-19 cases in Colorado and in the United States increased, and announced numerous emergency measures to protect public health and safety, including directing that immediate emergency rulemaking be initiated.

In light of Executive Order 2020 003, II, I-J the need exists to provide continuity of government operations that require certain staffing levels to obtain safe and effective results. The State Personnel Director is promulgating these emergency rules governing state workers who may be subject to quarantine or isolation, the reasons that temporary pay differentials may be used, the level of leave benefits that may be offered to temporary employees paid directly by the state and not through a third party vendor, and the use of a self-certification form in lieu of a medical certification form or doctor's note for sick leave absences in excess of three days as set forth in C.R.S. \$24-50-104(7)(a).

The State Personnel Director is exercising her rulemaking authority as granted under one or more of the following: Executive Order 2020 003; 24-33.5-701 et seq, C.R.S; Article XII of the Colorado Constitution.

This emergency rule shall go into effect March 13, 2020. Pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act C.R.S. §24-4-103(6), an emergency rule can only be in effect for a maximum of 120 days.

Kara Veitch, State Personnel Director

Department of Personnel & Administration