Governor Celebrates State Employees

Hide Featured Image

Governor recognizes State employees for their public service

Denver — Governor Jared Polis and Department of Personnel & Administration Executive Director Kara Veitch recognized 40 state employees for their superior service to the people of Colorado during 2020 and 2021. The lunch at the Governor's Mansion on Thursday, August 12, 2021 was part of Public Service Recognition Week. 

Typically the first full week of May each year is designated by Congress and the Governor to honor public employees and to educate the public about the many ways government workers make life better for all Americans. However, due to the State's COVID-19 response the 2020 event was cancelled and the 2021 event was postponed.

To celebrate the important contributions of our State employees, the Governor's Office and the Department of Personnel & Administration asked each State executive branch agency to select one employee for 2020 and one employee from 2021 who most exemplify the significant and invaluable contributions public servants make to the quality of life in our State. Honorees were selected for regularly demonstrating bold, consistent, and joyous service to the people of Colorado with no unforced errors. 

Department 2020 2021
Dept. of Education Sarah Blumenthal Nicole Monet
Dept. of Health Care Policy & Finance Erin Gates Parrish Steinbrecher
Dept. of Human Services Shannon Ord  Kim Longe
Dept. of Labor & Employment  Colleen Lynn Amy Perez
Dept. of Local Affairs Katherine Helgerson Elizabeth Garner
Dept. of Military & Veterans Affairs David Schmidt Joanne Iglesias
Dept. of Natural Resources Windi Padia Erin Light
Dept. of Personnel & Administration Josh Benn Janeen Haller-Abernethy
Dept. of Public Health & Environment Justin Tarr Ottavio Pirocchi
Dept. of Regulatory Agencies  Marisol Larez Karen McGovern
Dept. of Transportation Darrell Lingk Cindy Marquez
Governor's Office Luke Teater Heather Velasquez
Dept. of Corrections Reginald Norman Brian Kuhns
Dept. of Agriculture Brian Pauley Tiffany Brigner
Dept. of Public Safety Tammy Lichvar Colleen Gadd
Dept. of Revenue Yvonne Candelaria Tony Marsh
CO Energy Office  Gregg Hefner Stephanie Insinna Sahondo
Office of Economic Development Nikki Maloney Leslie Hylton
Office of Information Technology Andy Rollins Marcia Orr
Higher Education/History Colorado Maggie Yang Shannon Voirol



You can read the narratives about each honoree here.